depot logo

The Depot Theatre, a not-for-profit organization committed to providing professional theatrical arts in the Adirondacks, has received a grant for theatre improvements from the Alfred Z. Solomon Charitable Trust.

The Alfred Z. Solomon Charitable Trust has awarded the Depot with a grant of $6,710 to replace the theatre’s aging lighting grid. “The new lighting grid will improve and expand the theatre’s technical capabilities for our designers and technicians,” said Kevin Cochran, the Depot’s Producing Director.

The grant provides half of the funds for the project, of which the remainder will come from the theatre’s recent theatre improvement fundraising campaign, which began last summer. The goal of the campaign is to raise funds for infrastructure improvements including new seats, new carpeting, aisle lighting, expanded WiFi service and other projects. “Improvements such as these allow us to fulfill our mission of producing professional theatre for our community,” said Erin Harrington, business manager at the Depot.

“We are so pleased that the Alfred Z. Solomon Charitable Trust has decided to support this important project,” said Amy McNamara, president of the Depot Theatre Board of Trustees. Donors to the theatre improvement campaign include numerous individuals from the community, the Charles R. Wood Foundation and the New York State Council on the Arts.

For more information about the Depot Theatre, visit


The Depot Theatre is a non-profit, professional theatre located in a historic, functioning 1876 train station in Westport, N.Y., and operates under an agreement with Actors’ Equity Association, the union of professional actors and stage managers in the United States. In addition to its volunteer board of trustees, the theatre depends on the support and generosity of its loyal donors, volunteers and community members. Committed to promoting and providing exposure to the performing arts in the Adirondacks, the Depot Theatre invites all to “Take a journey without leaving the station.” The Depot Theatre’s 2017 Season, its 39th, is made possible by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature. Additional support is provided by the Essex County Arts Council.


The Alfred Z. Solomon Charitable Trust (Saratoga Springs, N.Y.) was established to benefit nonprofit scientific, medical, educational, cultural, religious, and charitable organizations by funding project and programs in memory of the Trust’s founder, Alfred Z. Solomon. Mr. Solomon, a leader in the fashion industry, a horse racing enthusiast, and a philanthropist in Gansevoort, N.Y., and New York City, died on Sept. 4, 2004, at the age of 104, and founded the Trust in his Last Will and Testament.


Maureen Carlo, Jim Carroll, Alisa Endsley, Beth Glover (secretary), David Howson, Daniel Keegan, Lawrence Masle, Amy McNamara (president), Diana McGuigan, Cheri Phillips, Kathy Recchia (vice president), Kimberly Rielly (treasurer) and Shirley Bacot-Shamel.


Bobbi Atz, Linda Beane, Bonnie Brewer, Randy Buck, George Davis (honorary chair), Howard Fish, Jonathan Hadley, John Klipper, Karen Lewis, Michael McDonald, Mary Ellen O’Loughlin, Libby Pataki, Jane Preston, Annie Scavo, Sally Struthers and Michael Thomas.